New User? Create an Account | Forgot Password?
Important Dates
Abstract Submission Opens
1 Jul 2017
Abstract Submission Deadline
1 Dec 2017 (Extended to 10 Jan 2018)
Notification of Abstract Acceptance
15 Jan 2018
Full Paper Submission Deadline
16 Apr 2018 (Extended to 15 Jun 2018)
Notification of Full Paper Acceptance
From 16 July 2018
Author Registration
By 17 September 2018

Keynote Speakers

Professor and Keck Chair of Engineering Rock Mechanics at University of Toronto

Wed-31 Oct 2018 | 10:00 – 10:30 | Summit 2

"Eurocode 7: genesis, development and implications for rock engineering"

During the course of the past decade a somewhat revolutionary approach to geotechnical engineering design has appeared, in the form of the design code EN-1997 Geotechnical Design, popularly known as Eurocode 7, or EC7. This article reviews the development of EC7 and the basis of the design philosophy it embraces, namely Limit State Design (LSD), before going on to show how LSD is currently implemented within EC7. Following this, the key issues of applying LSD to rock engineering design are explored, before closing with a review of how the forthcoming revision of EC7 – planned for 2020 – will display improved applicability to rock engineering design. Throughout these Sections, areas where customary rock engineering design practice will need to evolve in order to be compliant with the principles of LSD are highlighted.

John Harrison's research and professional interests lie principally in the field of rock engineering design techniques. For the past decade he has been actively working on the development of limit state design principles for engineering in fractured rock masses. As part of this he currently chairs a specialist pan-European rock mechanics and rock engineering expert group working under the auspices of CEN to revise Eurocode 7. In addition, he chairs the ISRM Commission on the Evolution of Eurocode 7. He currently holds the W.M. Keck Chair of Engineering Rock Mechanics at the University of Toronto, Canada, which position he has held since 2010.